Mental Health Awareness Month happens each year in May. To mark the occasion, Trillium Family Services, Oregon’s largest provider of mental and behavioral healthcare for children and families, hosts the annual “Keep Oregon Well” Mental Health Heroes Awards — a 31 day multi-media celebration of the people, nonprofits, community groups and business leaders who have helped pave the way for mental and behavioral healthcare to thrive in Oregon and the Pacific NW. This year we decided to place a focus on youth advocates and the adults that support and empower our youth to advocate for Mental Health.

On Saturday, May 18th, the 2019 Keep Oregon Well Mental Health Heroes will be honored at Trillium’s Black & Gold Gala, happening at Sentinel in Portland, Oregon. Many current and previous Mental Health Heroes Award honorees will be in attendance at the event and their stories of triumph, healing, resilience and community-building will be featured throughout the night.

The Black & Gold Gala will be hosted by 2018 Mental Health Hero and former Trillium client Anna Mallery, followed by a dance party with the band Hit Machine afterwards!

In the days leading up to and following the Black & Gold Gala, Trillium and the entire #KeepOregonWell Community will honor one Mental Health Hero for every day in May during Mental Health Awareness Month – 31 in all – featuring the story of a new hero each day on the Trillium website and across our Keep Oregon Well social media network.

Here is a full list of 2019’s “Keep Oregon Well” Mental Health Heroes Award Recipients:

May 1st – MaryBeth Cruz
May 2nd – Carolyn Ullman, MS, NCC
May 3rd – Jane Abraham Guild
May 4th – #DamWorthIt
May 5th – Meredith Eggert
May 6th – Gregory S. Blaschke, MD, MPH, FAAP
May 7th – Michael Ralls MA, MS
May 8th – Susan Russell
May 9th – Bill Willitts
May 10th – Sally Swain
May 11th – Sharon Richards
May 12th –Rosanne Marmor, LCSW
May 13th – Goali Saedi Bocci, PhD
May 14th – Francesca Bas
May 15th – Cayla Bleoaja
May 16th – Katelynn Schmidt
May 17th – Emma Fontaine
May 18th – Joanne McClarty (Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient)
May 19th – Alivia Morris
May 20th – Carson Lydon
May 21st – Grant Bourne
May 22nd – Christopher Scott MSW, CSWA
May 23rd – Andrea Redeau, LPC, CADC
May 24th – Keith Cheng, MD
May 25th – Caleb McDonald
May 26th – Drew McMains
May 27th – Riley Dysart
May 28th – Jeff Waters
May 29th – Ajai Huja
May 30th – Thu Truong
May 31st – Aaron Dickson, BS

Learn More about the Keep Oregon Well campaign and social movement now at